I exist. It is soft, so soft, so slow.

And light: it seems as though it suspends in the air. It moves.

Existentialism

Jean-Paul Sartre was a French existentialist philosopher, playwright, novelist, screenwriter, political activist, biographer, and literary critic. He was one of the key figures in the philosophy of existentialism, and one of the leading figures in 20th-century French philosophy and Marxism.

Imagination is not an empirical or superadded power of consciousness, it is the whole of consciousness as it realizes its freedom.

I think they do it to pass the time, nothing more. But time is too large, it can’t be filled up. Everything you plunge into it is stretched and disintegrates.

Definition-of-Existentialism

If you die, I will lie down beside you and I will stay there until the end, without eating or drinking, you will rot in my arms and I will love you as carcass: for you love nothing if you do not love everything.

We do not judge the people we love.

“It’s quite an undertaking to start loving somebody. You have to have energy ,generosity, blindness. There is even a moment right at the start where you have to jump across an abyss: if you think about it you don’t do it.”

“My thought is me: that’s why I can’t stop. I exist because I think… and I can’t stop myself from thinking. At this very moment – it’s frightful – if I exist, it is because I am horrified at existing. I am the one who pulls myself from the nothingness to which I aspire.”

existentialism (1)

“Man is condemned to be free. Condemned because he did not create himself, yet is nevertheless at liberty, and from the moment he is thrown into this world he is responsible for everything he does.”

How I stumbled over this: I googled “love Lisp” (because I do), and it autocompleted to “love lispector” which lead to the analysis of Clarice Lispector’s short story “Love?”, which contains a bunch of quotes  and references to Sartre. I am richeeeeer! Also: All the info, quotes and images in this post are from the great vastness of the Internet and I have no permission whatsoever to use them.

My thought is me: that’s why I can’t stop. I exist because I think … and I can’t prevent myself from thinking.

now I should start googling existentialism.

If you’re lonely when you’re alone, you’re in bad company.

Look, two black holes colliding/merging:

942636_594666943887654_1359799073_n

best the universe has to offer. Existing and all. Making stuff stop existing and shit.

Leave a Reply

