The road is long, we carry on, try to have fun in the meantime

Weak people revenge

Strong people forgive

Intelligent people ignore.

 

 

 

I like books. People should read more, instead of all this… hearing.

Since there is not much room for luggage on my bike (or in my life in general), books should be soft cover, and of no more than a few hundred pages.

I thus far recommend

In German:

The original title is Two old women. An Alaska Legend of Betrayal, Courage and Survival, and I’m sure the book is just as good a read in English as in German. I read it in one afternoon, partly because it is easy and fun to read, but mostly because it is quite intense and taunting.


And Nietzsche cried

What can I say.. wow. If you know German: Read this book. I’ve always found Nietzsche to be an interesting philosopher, but this book just gives an almost intimate sagacity (in lack of a more fitting word) of the emotional sides of his intellect. Just… wow.

In English:

This is a satirical novella written in 1884 (!), so yeah; it’s a classic! The author writes pseudonymously as a Square (no, I’m not kidding. Also, he does it extremely well.  He is the most likable square I have ever encountered!). He uses the fictional two-dimensional world of Flatland to criticize (or just analyze) the social hierarchy of Victorian culture, but to me the novella is first and foremost an entertaining story, stimulating reflections of higher dimensions (in the mathematical sense of the word).

In Norwegian:

Med Doppler gjør Erlend Loe seg til landets mest skremmende forfatter.  – Dagens næringsliv

Leave a Reply

