permanent emotional states

When I love, I want – no; I need – it to be profound and true.
I don’t run about telling every second person I meet that I love them; in fact I do it rather rarely.

For me love is an egoistic feeling. It comes from deep inside, it is motivated by the self, and I do not feel it for the good of somebody else. (though that might be a lucky side effect:) )

Furthermore, I do not think that love in any way should be based on
pity [feeling for others, particularly feelings of sadness or sorrow]
compassion [the emotional capacity of empathy and sympathy for the suffering of others]
sacrifice [the surrender or destruction of something prized or desirable.
 to surrender or give up, or permit injury or disadvantage to,for the sake of something else] 

Rather, love should be an expression of respect,
pride [a satisfied sense of attachment toward one’s own or another’s choices and actions, and a product of independent self-reflection, or a fulfilled feeling of belonging]
passion [an intense emotion, compelling feeling, enthusiasm, or desire for something]
reverence [a feeling of deep respect tinged with awe].

Love is a virtue, not a sacrifice.
I would not want to be loved as an act of responsibility, obligation or as a duty.
I want to be loved by someone who values themself and has integrity; is loyal to their own convictions and values.

Love is our response to our highest values.
It is the greatest reward you can earn for the moral qualities you have achieved.

Due to this I think that one can love a concept or something abstract just as much as one can love another person.

Some people love art, music for instance. I love theoretical physics; because of the deep feelings of understanding and insight I get from it. Not because it
makes my life so darn simple.

One thought on “permanent emotional states

  1. Hey There. I discovered your blog using msn. This is a really neatly written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and come back
    to read extra of your helpful information. Thank you for the post.
    I will definitely return.

Leave a Reply

